Russian Roulette

Voice of Recovery from Addiction

There’s this HUGE misconception that if you’re an addict, you can drink, and if you’re an alcoholic, you can smoke a blunt, take a pill, do a line or whatever. You’d be surprised how many times I hear, “My problem is pills, not alcohol so I can go out and have a few with my friends…..” Lookie here, let me break it down for you and give you some an extreme realness…..

If you’re an addict, you are an alcoholic in training and vice versa. This misconception can be deadly to your health. Here is what happens…..

When you suffer from any kind of addiction and you do ANY KIND of MOOD ALTERING SUBSTANCE, yes, it’ll give you a buz, but it won’t be the buz you’re really looking for. Sooner or later you will go back to your drug of choice. Or you’ll be entering the wonderfully painful world of an additional addiction.

When deciding to get “sober” it will only work if you refrain from ALL drugs and alcohol. Otherwise you’re NOT sober. The truth of the matter is, if you can’t function without being under the influence of something, you might want to find out why that is. Being sober isn’t about just not drinking or using, being sober comes from deep within. It means being at peace with yourself without anything in your system to simulate happiness or anything other kind of emotion for that matter. If you partake in actions such as this, even if you’re not doing the drug (alcohol IS a drug) you’re addicted to, it is still considered a “relapse”

EXAMPLE:

I haven’t had a drink in almost five years because I AM an alcoholic, therefore I can’t go out and get drunk. If you saw me in a club drinking a glass of soda but I was stoned out of my brain high on weed or something else, would you consider me to be still sober? Not likely and you would be correct. I would have to start my recovery process all over again and that’s only IF I decided to do so. If I didn’t, it would escalate and I would end up right back to where I was or worse.

By using another mood altering substance in replace of your drug of choice, you’re still repeating the vicious cycle. You can’t keep doing the same things over and over and expect a different outcome. Being sober is about learning how to live life on life’s terms without the need for your drug of choice. It’s about conquering your demons which is what’s caused that addiction to begin with. Some people can drink or use “socially” but when you suffer from the disease of addiction, we can’t and ANY kind of drink or drug will seal our doom whether it’s our drug of choice or not. You may see it as a totally different thing, but the outcome will always be the same as time goes on. It’s a vicious cycle that will keep you running around in the darkness unless you’re willing to put a complete end to it.

You are free to make your own decisions, just remember that for every choice, there IS a consequence. The question is are you willing to pay the consequences you’ll have to pay when playing Russian Roulette with your life? That’s exactly what you’ll be doing.

AJ Menendez, Master Male Illusionist

One thought on “Russian Roulette

Leave a Reply

